I have been stuck on pdcurses for days

This may be challenging.

I really, really need help on how to use pdcurses. I don't mean help with the code, but help with how to set it up on an IDE. I can use Code::Blocks, Visual C++, or NetBeans. I use MinGW.

To be more specific, I am trying to design a roguelike. Although I am a beginner to C++ I feel I am ready, so please do not critique my decision making. I just need help with external libraries, or whatever it is called when you have a header file and a lib file and need to link them to a project.

PDCurses is the library I have decided on. The three files, pdcurses.h, pdcurses.lib and pdcurses.dll are all here available here. http://pdcurses.sourceforge.net/

What I am asking for, exactly, is a step by step instruction (from the beginning) on what to do after I download the files. Although I mostly know what to do, it doesn't seem to work at all, so I am going to just start fresh. If it's not too much to ask for, please be specific.

Also, I have done a very large amount of searching (A VERY LARGE AMOUNT) and this is my final resort. I would like somebody to help me specifically, not a general guideline. But if you feel compelled to give me a tutorial, I will gladly look it over.

Please, please help me. I will be eternally grateful if you can. This is extremely important to me.
Last edited on
I'm going to assume that by "Visual Basic" you mean "Visual Studio", specifically "Visual C++". This is the first result I got when I Googled for "VC++ link lib":
http://www.kirupa.com/forum/showthread.php?273849-Studio-Visual-C-Adding-(-lib)-refrence!&p=2335924&viewfull=1#post2335924
Post #3 has a very detailed explanation of how to link to the library. After that, just #include the header and start coding ;)

At runtime, you only need your built EXE file and the DLL file to be in the same folder, the lib and header are no longer needed.
Last edited on