Issue With Code

Hello everyone,

First of all, I would like to just point out that this is my first post in the cplusplus forums and If I may be posting in the wrong place or something like that then please tell me! I am fairly new to programming in c++ although I have experience with other languages such as Java and Visual Basic. I wrote some code while following the examples for learning to program. I am currently learning about constants. As I know from past experience, it is always best to write your own code for each topic that is covered. I wrote some basic code and it is indeed compiling but it doesnt run the way I was expecting it to and I am not sure why. Basically, I would like some help on why this code:
#include <iostream>
#include <string> /*I realize that this is not needed in this program
but I was planning on adding on so that is why it is here*/

using namespace std;
#define NEW '\n'
int main ()
{
cout <<("testing constants(define statement)");NEW;cout <<("second");
system ("PAUSE");/*Only using for personal project. I realize the security
issue around this.*/
return 0;
}

Is not printing the word second, on the second line. Instead, It all prints on one line only! If someone could please explain this to me and possibly post some revised code that does what I was expecting that would be awesome of you!

Thanks so much,

Prototype
Im pretty sure what you wrote is equivalent to
cout <<("testing constants(define statement)");
\n;
cout <<("second");

Why dont you just use endl? or just add them together

cout <<"testing constants(define statement)\nsecond";

This shouldn't be compiling.
Hello all,