GUI Development with C++

I am a newbie C++ programmer (I have learnt enough about functions, loops, classes, constructors, destructors, arrays, pointers, file handling(fstream) and exception handling; should I still call me a newbie?). Well, my actual question is ...

I want to make an application using C++ programming, GUI style and cross-platform. Now, this is the first time I am doing it using C++. So, I have no prior knowledge about GUI development. I Google'd and found a few toolkits and among them (Qt, wxWidgets, FLTK etc.), I liked wxWidgets the most. But I want to make a GUI which is more beautiful than those which can be created using wxWidgets' common controls. Please tell me how to create a good GUI. This (http://www.flickr.com/photos/91139853@N07/8278615080/in/photostream) is something which I would consider to be a beautiful GUI.

Also, if possible, please suggest me an IDE with drag and drop (plz. don't suggest Qt + QtCreator) for whichever solution you provide to my question. I am very accustomed with Visual Basic's drag and drop methodology so, I want something that comes with a form designer (like wxDevC++).

And please, please, please, mention about the performance of the app, that I would get by using the toolkit you suggest. The main reason why I am trying to get into C++ GUI development is performance. I don't quite like the performance of Visual Basic apps.

That's all. Thanks in advance.... :)
Last edited on
Why don't you like Qt so much? It's a very solid GUI SDK...