Portfolio Projects

I have realised that a person under the age of 18 is unable to acquire a job easily, and many people wanting "teen jobs" are often told to rather build their portfolio. So here is my question, I have been programming in C++ for roughly 2 years and python for 4 years before that, I primarily program solutions to algorithmic contest problems and would like to start developing a portfolio, what projects would you guys recommend.

Note: I think I would typically enjoy doing more "back-end" work, i.e. I dislike working with graphics libs, GUIs and the likes.
closed account (G309216C)
I already got reference from Microsoft because I reported few security vulnerabilities.

This is one choice but this is hard as well. I suggest working with Open-Source Projects or make a good project on your own and release it in public. That's what I am going to do to gain few more portfolio. Or be a notable programmer in a Open Source Project.

GL
Open source software and I do not get along well. I do not think I am experienced enough to be of much value to any OSS Project.

Space Worm wrote:
make a good project on your own and release it in public

That is my question, what projects should I make to put into my portfolio.

closed account (3qX21hU5)
One project I have been having a lot of fun with lately is building a "BOT" for my puzzle game I am making.

As of right now I am just getting the hang of what it involves by building a Visual Based BOT for simple online flash games (Grabs certain pixels of the screen and uses their values in the BOT's logic to determine what it should do).

Personally I am doing this in Python but I'm sure it can be done in C++ with some extra code. It would also be a useful tool if you are into game development since a BOT doesn't get tired of playing a single part of the game over and over for hours.