Some Morale Boost required :)

Hi!

I have been working hard on a desktop software project. I have already invested 6 months of my time and effort into it and I don't know if I have even reached the half way mark.

Kindof getting discouraged from pursuing it further because:

- I have been reading articles that say that desktop applications are rapidly being replaced by cloud based apps, mobile apps etc.

- The market as such for this particular application is very small.

- I am a beginner and this is the 1st software that I am attempting. As expected in a beginner's project it is full of inefficiencies, hard codings and "what not to do"s. (though it does its job and I am rigorously testing it and would be surprised if someone finds a major bug)

- Professional companies have scores of talented and much more experienced programmers than me and I in my wildest dreams cannot hope to match up with the kind of applications that they develop.

Things in my favour:
- I have nothing much to loose. I have lots of free time at my disposal.
- I am a very stubborn person and I am prepared to face failures.
- If nothing works out, at least I will end up being more experienced.

Are those fears that I stated real? Have any of you come across similar situations/thoughts while working on a software project?
I think the biggest problem might be getting noticed.

but either way, even if ten people buy your software and love it, who cares? at least you know someone actually uses the work you yourself did.

have you ever considered going open source?