What is it with games programming??

Is it the flavour of the month.
Does any novice here want to be anything other than a games
programmer.

What about operating systems, compilers, debuggers etc.
lol. Flavour of the decade is more like it. There are enough OS, compilers, and debuggers out there... Who wouldn't want to create games for a living. I for example have been pushing Business Applications for over 10 years, Oracle, .Net, you name it I've done it, and I'm plain sick and tired of working with accounting and inventory departments and dealing with business requirements. That's why I'm moving toward game programming, but mainly its just a hobby right now until I produce something decent. What other way can you bring together your analytical, graphical, musical, and storytelling skills into one product and have fun at the same time, not to mention make some cash if your good at it. I think the spike in novice game programmers are due to the new tools that are available purely for game development such as pygame, xna, darkGDK, and BlitzBASIC.

What people don't realize is that game programming is typically a hell of a lot more difficult than Business App development (immensely more difficult), unless of course you are working on something scientific and bleeding edge. My advice to everyone that reads this post that is intrested in programming is to stay the hell out of main stream corporate America and go to game programming. It's not a complete escape from the annoyances of corporations, but you won't have an "Office Space" day and want to shoot up the place... that often. And if you're one of those people that just plain sucks and has no creativity but you still don't want a Business App job, then look into Game Tool Designer jobs.
OTOH game programmers work a lot of hours and typically don't make a lot of money to show for the effort.