Quick assembly question

I'm having to convert an inline assembly block from MSVC to MinGW (it cannot be written in C++, as it passes a runtime-determined number of arguments to function calls) - I've got it all converted, except that there is an error that I can't resolve. I have absolutely no assembly experience, and apparently I'm not good at Googling because I can't find anything relevant to my error.

I have this assembly line:

fstp Result;

Where Result is an int declared before the assembly block. The error I am getting is:
AppData\Local\Temp\cc7Qc9sw.s: Assembler messages:
AppData\Local\Temp\cc7Qc9sw.s:4638: Error: ambiguous operand size for `fstp'
All I know is that the variable Result is supposed to take the value of a float, as if by a reinterpret_cast.
I don't know asm, but this is in a book I have
Professional Asembly Language by Richard Blum wrote:

The FSTP instruction also copies the ST0 FPU register value, but then pops it from the FPU register
stack. This shifts all of the FPU stack values up one place in the stack.
Don’t forget to add the data size character to the end of the FST and FSTP mnemonics to specify the
proper size of the resulting data value. In this example, the FSTPS instruction is used to create a singleprecision
floating-point value stored in 4 bytes (32 bits) of memory from the value in the ST0 FPU stack
position:

I guess try using fstps.
Last edited on
I get an error, no such instruction. :\
Last edited on
Try adding DWORD or another size operand in front of it, like so:

FTSP DWORD Result;
or

FTSP DWORD PTR Result;
Hope it helps.
The command is fstp, not ftsp, and when I try what you suggest it gives an error that 'Result' is junk after the command.
Sorry try:
FSTP DWORD PTR[Result];
or
FSTP DWORD [Result];
Although it is probably the former that would work.
I am assuming result holds a pointer to a memory address, if not then you are trying to copy a 32 bit float to a 32 bit int and that is not going to end well.