What's the best way to go about getting a job as a beginning CS Student?

Hello all,

I just completed my first semester of my Computer Science degree (all A's, except for one, which I'm waiting on, and might be an A-/B+. I just wanted to know what kind of entry-level jobs would be any kind of possibility for someone in my position, as a person trying to gain relevant experience, as well as something where I could possibly earn a little bit of money.

The programming class that I took was in C++, and I started learning about C++ on my own about 5-6 months prior to it. It is my strongest language, although I also know some other languages (C#, Java, JavaScript), HTML, Dreamweaver, PhotoShop, etc.

I have nothing against regular jobs (i.e. food service, retail, etc.), as I've worked tons of them for much of my life, but I just wish I could do something a bit more technical. I'm also not assuming that I deserve anything, or am entitled to anything, as I'm not, I'm just trying to see what a reasonable move could be for me.
Last edited on
I got a job at my university IT department. Pay sucks, experience is great. Might see if your university offers student worker type positions.
closed account (13bSLyTq)
Hi,

I don't have experience but I would suggest you may want to apply to small software firms with some type of part-time job with low salary. This would most likely get you a bigger chance of getting the job.

Maybe during interviews try to brush up on good manners and general communication. It has been recently proved that almost 70% of all interviewers make the first impression based on the clothing and the neatness.

The most observed clothing is the shoes, as mainly these tend to indicate your "REAL" organization and cleanliness and the maturity of your behaviour. Moreover, in Ireland I heard a lot of the Graduates from UK are going to Ireland in search for Software Engineering posts.

So Ireland is a good place for Younger Generations to aim for a Job.

TD;LR