Should I know GUI to become programmer

Pages: 12
Hi. I have been studying C++ for a couple of years and I started studying C# as my second language. My question is - Should I know how to program the General User Interface by myself? For example if I become a C++ developer, am I supposed to write the logical part of the code and also the user interface with Qt or another tool?
Or is there a person in the team who writes the logical part of the project and another who makes the interface?
closed account (EwCjE3v7)
It would be nice and you would have a better chance of being hired. But some companys might have different people who are really skilled in that to do it. But like i said it would be great for you to learn it.
i would recommend that you learn GUI programming as it will help you to understand what the other programmers are doing (assuming that there is another person doing the gui) but if you learn it then you probably have a better chance of getting hired.
is there a person in the team who writes the logical part of the project and another who makes the interface

Depends on the company: in a 5-person startup, everyone does everything. In a corporation with thousands of C++ developers, work is a lot more granular, and chances are higher that UI is not done in C++, at least in my experience. It won't hurt, but it certainly isn't a requirement for top level jobs.
closed account (N36fSL3A)
You can get away without if you're looking for lower level jobs.
closed account (o1vk4iN6)
Your contradicting exactly what Cubbi said, i'd trust Cubbi's word over yours.
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
while i agree that we should trust cubbis over a lot of peoples, i fail to see how that contradicts it, it in fact agrees with cubbis last statement. its saying that its not a requirement neccesarily at any level. you could be an entry level programmer and only write behind the scenes stuff. you could also be one of the top managers and be doing that