multi-threaded sockets in python

closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
so i "finished" my irc bot in python. by finished i mean it only connects to irc.quakenet.org #cplusplus (you can see it if you connect. its called DTSCode-Bot). however, the point of my class isnt just to create a bot. i also want to create a client. so i cant see a way to continue to recv() data without having to pause for data. so for the first time ever, i turn to threads, which brings me to my questions.
a) how plausible is it to do this: have one thread continuosly recv()ing data and writes it to the window (in this case the terminal. ill make a gui later) and then another continuously waiting for input which then send()s it to the server

b) how good it the python multi-threaded library?
c) is it safe to share a socket with two threads?
d) where is the best place to learn about multi-threading in python for complete beginners?
closed account (3qX21hU5)
A) Yes it is plausible.

B) Python doesn't have "true" multithreading in the sense that it actually uses the CPU's multiple threads. So you won't gain any processing power using threading in python but it is still good for IO bottlenecks.

C) I wouldn't

D) If you know how multi-threading works on one language you should be able to transfer that knowledge to any language really. If you are just looking for how to use multi-threading in python I would check out the threading module and you might also want to check out the multiprocessing module also. The python documentation is a good place to start.

http://docs.python.org/2/library/multiprocessing.html
http://docs.python.org/2/library/threading.html
Last edited on
IO operation times.

what is that exactly?

B) Python doesn't have "true" multithreading in the sense that it actually uses the CPU's multiple threads. Instead it simulates threading. So you won't gain any processing power using threading in python but it is still good for IO bottlenecks.