To test or not to test

I've been coding in C/C++ by myself for years, but now that I'm at uni (and therefore have to use *shudder* java), I'm forced to do something I've never done before - unit testing. While I can definitely see the benefits of spending time on unit tests if you work with a lot of people on a large project, I can't help but feel like it throws me off. Having to go back and forth between test-code and actual code, testing every bit of added functionality as I go, really disrupts my "mental flow" when coding. I don't know how to explain it, but when I'm really getting into a problem, following long trails of events in the code, having to snap out of that and write test-code is a real annoyance. Any one else feel this way, and if so, got any tips to get past that? No flamewar intended here, I don't even really know if unit-testing the java-way is common in C++-world or not.

EDIT: Of course, code needs to be tested, what I'm talking about is specifically the TDD-style of development.
Last edited on
It's fundamental making sure that code stays consistent. It allows changes to happen to code and makes damn sure that the result stays the same.

The correct answer on whether or not to do unit testing is yes, you should test. Realistically, it's not common though...

In large projects, unit-testing is a requirement, almost a project of its own. If you look at Mesa, you'll notice a large amount of piglet tests: http://people.freedesktop.org/~nh/piglit/

It's impossible to test every feature of a large project by yourself in a timely manner and is cumbersome to asynchronously do it among a large group.
Last edited on
I expect (and usually find) any serious large C++ project to require unit tests to accompany every checkin. The programmer writes them, the QA verifies and signs off.