• Forum
  • Lounge
  • New C++ tutorial for beginners - opinion

New C++ tutorial for beginners - opinions wanted!

Hello!

I was thinking that there are no really good C++ tutorials for total beginners, so I decided to create one.

At this moment, I would like to get some feedback. So, if you would be so kind, take a look there and state what you think. Your feedback will be appreciated.

Here is the computer programming tutorial for beginners, in the C++ language:

http://www.learn-programming-book.com
Last edited on
I suggest to move this thread into Lounge. It will not be buried under constant stream of new topics here.

I did not read it that closely, but on first glance it looks good.
However I sugest to move "integer division" closer to beginning. Somewhere where you are describing difference between integer and floating point types.
Integer division is a source of many problems to the beginners, so the sooner they will learn about it, the better.
Thanks for your feedback!

I moved the topic to the Lounge.

About Integer Division: if it really is so hard, that would be more of an argument to move it back, not in front. It's better to expose beginners to harder topics later.

Early in the tutorial the type double is introduced (chapter 4). The type int in introduced in chapter 9, and there is some discussion about types there. Integer division is chapter 15. I had no need to place it closer to front (there are no chapters depending on chapter 15 until PART 2). It would also not be very good to explain integer division, and then not use it for too many chapters.
Last edited on
if it really is so hard
It is not hard. It is surprising that this: double S = a * b / 2; gives 4 for a and b = 3.

type double is introduced (chapter 4). The type int in introduced in chapter 9