A question for C++ experts

Hi,

I am a newbie in C++, trying to be better everyday. Here a question for you experts so I can make my self comparison. I am developing C++ for almost 3 months now and still need to look up on internet to remember some basic syntax and methods in each new project. Ex: initializing 2d arrays, use of iterators etc..

Don't you guys forget some basic stuff occasionally? To be more clear, do you do a research on internet for some easy methods even if you used that recently?

I am asking this because usually my memory works fine, and this situation makes me mad. I feel like dumb sometimes.
Last edited on
Most of the syntax and grammar of the language eventually becomes so ingrained that you don't even think about it. The most commonly used classes from the library also get memorized, except maybe for some less commonly used methods. Ranged fors have made iterators redundant for me, for the most part.
Nowadays I only need to look up unusual classes and/or semantics. See for example
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/175305/
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/172808/
istemihan wrote:
Don't you guys forget some basic stuff occasionally?

I've been using c++ for about 9 years, helios has more experience than that (he answered some of my questions when I first joined c++ back then). I frequently have to look up programming patterns in other languages (writing an api in php, can't remember if it is foreach($var as $key => $val) or foreach($var, $key, $val) (spoiler: it's the first)

But c++ syntax/common containers/general style really don't give me a hard time. It may take you a couple times of using that function but you'll start remembering. That's the nature of natural and programmatic languages! We all feel dumb sometimes, don't beat yourself up about it.
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
istemihan wrote: