• Forum
  • Lounge
  • What do people make of the open framewor

What do people make of the open frameworks and that project generator?

Im doing a c++ module at uni;

I was supposed to do Java instead of c++, this is because games programming has a c++ course and computer science thinks that Java is adequate for teaching computer science.

however I got to choose, the annoying this is though that they are teaching with OpenFrameworks and using the project generator to teach and accept coursework in, I can use other libraries but I have to ask first, I imagine they cant be too simple.

I cant place my annoyances, surley games programmers shuld be learning java if they are going to be coding in unity? because its like c#, or c# of course, but that would be too obvious.

in my comp sci classes they are teaching linked lists with java! kinda dumb and slow but I dont know why im annoyed and while im lucky enough to know the subjects they are teaching allready im still a beginner in many ways.

So what you think of OpenFrameworks, I feel like its taking the programming away.

And should I do coursework in SFML and c++11 for graphics and sockets instead or am I being an impractical purist?

Ima gonna make Bomberman and maybe online multiplayer, I will share it online when im done :D

What does choosing one language rather than another have to do with being a purist?
open frameworks is c++; as is something like sfml.

Project generator is like what processing is to Java.

Im not sure whats annoying about most of my work being done for me, I guess I may as well as
stuck with Java, but if a care then that makes me one of those purist fools because it shouldn't matter.

So why did I even choose C++ over Java in the first place?

Im just asking you what you think about openframeworks maybe to discover what it is that's bothering me.
Last edited on
Could you link to the website for this "project generator" thing? It has such a generic name that the Google results are no good.