Is C++ dead?

Pages: 123... 5
closed account (iw0XoG1T)
Is C++ dead? I have been told second hand from a source that I do not trust that claims C++ is no longer being taught at the major universities in the US. My biggest reason for distrust of this source is the fact that he stated what is being taught is Java. If anybody could point me to reliable sources, not blogs, on what is and is not being taught at major universities in the US I would appreciate it.
There's only one response to a claim like that. It's called: [citation needed].
I agree that is why I am looking for citations; what I was hoping for is if just a few people could give my the names of universities in the US still teaching C++; I believe that I could probably contact these universities and get a list of there computer science courses offered. I am not a programmer all I ever do is write VBA macros that populate excel spreadsheets; so even though I am the most knowledgeable person at my place of employment one idiot that claims to be an expert does have influence.
Any good Computer Science/Computer Engineering/Software Engineering program is going to focus more on the fundamental concepts that are language agnostic. Learning the languages themselves is just a matter of learning the specific semantics used by that language. Understanding data structures and the algorithms that work on them, for example, will be universal to any language, (assuming that language provides the basic instruction sets to perform such work).

Whether major universities are teaching their courses in C++ or not is largely irrelevant. If they've determined that the courses are more easily taught in Java, so be it. That is not going to dictate what languages the software industry as a whole will use though.