Motivation - Problems & Solution

Hey guys,

Sorry for being long winded, but I think you guys might like this too.

Problem - Burning Out:
I guess I'm a indie game developer hobbyist. Like many others, I burnout, maybe stop coding or maybe think of a new project which will light my passions again. In the end I am leaving a wake of many many partially coded games and tons more prototyped features/bugs.

I've always enjoyed starting over ... for a few reasons.
- I've learned so much I could do it better.
- I could code this faster, so let me time myself
- It's easier/faster to restart than to recode my bad code.

2nd Problem - Fresh Code:
When you work with others, usually you never start writing code from scratch and
making the main design documents of how it all functions together. Real experience is going into somebody else's project and trying to understand their vision and their ideas for functionality. (And documentation IF they have any.)

In The Past:
I've done week long code crunches. This is where I pick a game type I want (Sail & Trade, Space Exploring, Sword and Shield adventure, or other) and have a hard deadline of a week from now. This will include my normal 40 hour work week. The game will be a simple text/terminal PC game to be shown off not matter what the end condition is.

My best was a ship-trade game from scratch in 31 hours and it took 4 hours of gameplay to beat. Ending with a fleet of 5 gallons and a million coin. My testers who played it said it was actually quite addictive for a text game.

Solution:
This Code Crunch Game is digging up an old text space game I was working on many years ago which already has 90+ hours into it, design docs, and a functioning framework. I'm going to go find all my old stuff. In addition, I've got the next 4 days off with no distractions: no bills, laundry, cleaning, shopping, repairs, friends, family, etc!

Plan:
The plan is that tonight after work (yes I'm at work right now on lunch break)
1.) Night before: