Making a website..looking for tips

Pages: 12
Hi so I am a computer science student. I am knowledgeable in programming & scripting languages. I was asked by a friend to build a website for his new smoothie store. I have used site like wix and wordpress to build websites in the past, however looking for a better/more advanced way of approaching this. The site will include online ordering & other standard info about the business. I want to tackle this professionally does anyone have any tips on getting started?
I was thinking coding in html/css using brackets
It doesn't matter what editor / IDE you use as long as it saves plain text files.
The first decision you should make what to use for the backend - PHP or ASP.NET also what database to use, then you need some library for a shopping cart, maybe one credit card processing or paypal

Have a look at https://code.tutsplus.com/
They have tons of tutorials about websites though it might take a bit of time to find what you need.

Another place to look for stuff is https://market.envato.com/
There you have to pay, but you can charge your friend
Thanks for the feedback. Can you explain a little more on the backend stuff? Also, if I build the site from the ground up (i.e not using wordpress or anything), how do I go about making the site live. Do I need to purchase the domain name?
I played around last night with brackets and made a basic, but cool looking simple site in html/css. I had a lot of fun with it, it is very simple compared to c++.
The front-end is basically the HML, CSS and JS which is basically the UI part.
The backend is the stuff does does all the stuff with the data(user and products) and logic - mostly done in PHP or ASP.NET or maybe Python.
The normal procedure is to code it on your machine, later then you upload it to a host.

If you go for PHP XAMPP will help you to set-up everything on your machine.
If you go for ASP.NET you need Visual Studio.