• Forum
  • Lounge
  • secondary programming language (graduati

secondary programming language (graduation req.)

Pages: 12
In addition to assembly and a primary programming language (I chose C++ :D), I have to take 2 semesters of a "secondary" language to graduate. The options I can chose from are: VB, Java, or C.

I don't feel particularly inclined to take a C course, as I already have a beginner's knowledge of it from my C++ classes. If the need should arise, I could learn more advanced techniques on my own time.

I dabbled with Java in high school, but haven't really touched it since. As for VB, I know nothing about it, except that it is an event-driven language. To be honest, the first thing I thought of was the bronze age language BASIC.

10 PRINT "THIS IS A BASIC PROGRAM.";
20 INT I = 0;
30 FOR I<100, PRINT I, NEXT I;

Ah, nostalgia...

At the moment, I'm majoring in software engineering, with plans of working in the artificial intelligence field. I'm also clueless as to which one would be the most helpful in the future. Suggestions?

EDIT: Not really sure about the BASIC code; it looks right, but it's been a while :P
Last edited on
Java probably. Or C, but Java would probably get more use. But then again, if you know C++ picking up Java should be no issue.

I wouldn't recommend VB to anyone, but that's just my personal distaste for it. Kind of weird that those are your only options.
Kind of weird that those are your only options.

Ah, I meant that those are the only options I can choose from that will fit in my class schedule. My bad.

Classes in C#, FORTRAN, and Lisp are also offered. However, Lisp is scheduled at the same time as a math class I have to take, FORTRAN just seems silly, and IDK about C#. AFAIK, C# is very similar to Java, just not as portable.
From what I hear, .NET is kind of a hot thing right now. So C# wouldn't be bad. LISP would be best IMO. Shows employers you have the ability to pick up very different languages.