Suggestions on Custom Laptop Retailers

I'm in the market for a good and relatively powerful laptop. A friend recommended I go to ibuypower.com, but after reading many horrifying and blood-curdling reviews of computers arriving months late and already broken in the box, I feel I should stay away from that site. I also looked at Puget Systems, which seems like a very reliable and professional retailer, but they were a bit expensive for me as I am only a student and trying to wisely spend the money I earn this summer. Any suggestions and comments you could make on a reputable retailer would greatly be appreciated.
{solid, powerful, cheap} - take two

If you decide for solid + powerful (for programming, etc.) I'd recommend either MacBook Pro or Dell Precision series (eventually Dell Latitude or Toshiba Tecra - this is one rank lower and cheaper but still pretty awesome). After working with Dell Precision, pretty much everything else feels like a toy computer.

As for retailer, any authorised one is ok.
Last edited on
I'd recommend either MacBook Pro

I have never seen someone recommend a Mac for programming :O
O'RLY? If you want to program for iOS you *have to* get a Mac. Nevertheless, even though we don't, half of programmers in our company use MacBooks for programming (another half are using Linux + some high-end Dell / Toshiba / HP / IBM laptops). The same is at Google or Facebook. Good companies can afford spending $3000 for a good computer (it is less than 1/2 of monthly salary).

BTW: Dell XPS series is pretty powerful and solid and cheaper than Latitude or MacBook Pro. It is also lighter, so easier to take it to school.
Last edited on
Ah I'm not even gonna partake in this shit storm that I feel brewing.
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main() {
    while(True) {
        cout << "Mac is better"
        cout<<"Windows is better"
        cout<<"Linux is better"
        if(agreementReached==True) {      //Never going to happen
            break;