Web Crawler and Search Bot - Help

Hi all,

I am an old programmer now making my return - old habits die hard

I used to work with C++ under Linux but haven't programmed in a few years since moving more to design and management. However, have a business idea I want to try out.

I am looking to crawl a specific website and all its sub-domains and trawl it for keywords, and do a count of the occurrence of that word under the domain, and store the result in a database.

For example , consider IBM's portal (a massive website), and I want to check how many webpages have the word "ThinkPad".

I have no idea where to start. Should I be looking at things like GNU Wget , Abot or what? Or, am I looking at writing a search engine? When you enter a word in google - it tells you the number of results and the time like "2,999 in 0.003second".

In simpleton terms - like running a command line to do a grep on a list of files and piping it into a wc (word count) - except i want to run it on a website and all its domains and files. I would like to be able to define my criteria in an XML file or rules file - something i can enhance and manipulate over time.

Where should I start?

Thanks,

cbf28
It's not all that hard. You only need two things: a networking library (I recommend SFML: http://sfml-dev.org/ ) and a HTML parser (I found this one: http://github.com/dhoerl/htmlcxx but I have never used it).

You'd have a class which takes a URL and downloads the page, counts the number of times the search string appears, and scans the downloaded page for URLs. For every URL that it finds, it creates a new instance and the cycle starts over again. Personally I would have each new instance spawn in a new thread (with a maximum number of threads), and I'd store the URLs already visited so that no URL would be downloaded or parsed twice.
Last edited on