Unix on Windows?

Hello guys,
I'm currently learning how to program in c++. I use CodeBlocks for this. I learn it through a book. Until now, everything was ok, I understood all about classes, functions etc.. Now, in the next chapter, they suddenly write something about unix, makefile and commands.
Now I'm really confused. It isn't some kind of function, is it?
As I'm only a newbie in programming, I have no idea what they are now talking about.

So I did a little research. Is it true that you can only compile in UNIX if you have Linux? Or what about the GNU compiler? So compiling in UNIX does not work with CodeBlocks?

I hope you understand what my problem is. It is so confusing to me. Please tell me, if you have problems understanding my question!
I use CodeBlocks for this ... they suddenly write something about unix, makefile and commands.
As I'm only a newbie in programming, I have no idea what they are now talking about.
Codeblocks is an example of what we call an Integrated Development Environment (IDE). It integrates a source code editor, perhaps a resource editor, a compiler, linker and debugger.

An alternative is to use your own editor, do the compile/link yourself and run the debugger yourself. That usually involves working from a text console/terminal. And that's why you need to know about the console/terminal commands.

Make is a program that automates the compile/link cycle? Why bother with make when you can just run the compiler? Because compiles can take some time, and you don't always need to compile everything, and make works out what needs to be compiled.
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/jTbCpfjN/

You don't need to learn Unix commands. If you're on Windows, you interact with the Windows console. But you can learn Unix commands on Windows. You'll need to install Cygwin, it provides a Unix shell on Windows and a package manager for installed Unix things.
http://www.cygwin.com/

I hope you now understand that isn't the case.
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)