A good makefile example

closed account (oG8U7k9E)
I have been teaching myself using what I believe is a pretty good text book. I use the gcc compiler and makefiles. I program this way because I could not find an IDE that I like, but I have this fear that the makefile I use is written poorly. Could some give me a good example of a makefile that they are using, or at least tell me if I am doing something the hard way.

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SOURCE=octhecdec.cpp octhecdec.h
MYPROGRAM=octhecdec
MYINCLUDES=/home/scale/g++Projects/gLib/

MYLIBRARIES=fltk
CC=g++

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all: $(MYPROGRAM)

$(MYPROGRAM): $(SOURCE)

$(CC) -I$(MYINCLUDES) $(SOURCE) -o$(MYPROGRAM) -l$(MYLIBRARIES)

clean:

rm -f $(MYPROGRAM)

Your example seems ok.

I dunno if this link helps.
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/unices/6710/
I'm not a makefile expert, however there are a couple of issues with your makefile.

1) You pass a .h file to the compiler;
2) If any source file changes, you have to rebuild all of them, all the time.
The best place to start is actually with the documentation. Since you are using GNU tools, you might as well stick with GNU Make -- which is superior to other Make tools in many ways.
http://www.gnu.org/software/make/manual/

Your choice of variable names could be improved.
See http://www.gnu.org/software/make/manual/make.html#Implicit-Variables
In particular, your MYLIBRARIES variable is dangerous -- because at some point you'll want to do something like

7 MYLIBRARIES=fltk m

(That is, you'll list more than one library, like FLTK and the C math library.) This will produce a command line terminating in:

-lfltk m

which is erroneous (obviously). Instead, list the libs directly:

7 LDFLAGS = -lfltk -lm

The same thing can be said of MYINCLUDES. When you are done, you should see something like:
20 $(CC) $(CFLAGS) $(SOURCE) -o octhecdec $(LDFLAGS)