c++ debugging

Hello,
I'm new in c++ and in linux, I have a program that is giving me error when compiling using the g++ in linux, the command g++ -g -o test test.cpp is working fine, but when running the ./test it is giving error because of the pointers,
I tried to use the debug command gcc but it is not working, and help plz.

thanks all, :)
The gnu debugger is gdb.

gdb nameOfprogram

and then

run
malloc.c:2453: sYSMALLOc: Assertion `(old_top == (((mbinptr) (((char *) &((av)->bins[((1) - 1) * 2])) - __builtin_offsetof (struct malloc_chunk, fd)))) && old_size == 0) || ((unsigned long) (old_size) >= (unsigned long)((((__builtin_offsetof (struct malloc_chunk, fd_nextsize))+((2 * (sizeof(size_t))) - 1)) & ~((2 * (sizeof(size_t))) - 1))) && ((old_top)->size & 0x1) && ((unsigned long)old_end & pagemask) == 0)' failed.

Program received signal SIGABRT, Aborted.
0x00007ffff72b9285 in raise () from /lib64/libc.so.6
(gdb)
(gdb) n
Single stepping until exit from function raise,
which has no line number information.

Program terminated with signal SIGABRT, Aborted.
The program no longer exists.
(gdb)
when runing i have the following error help plz
You've corrupted the heap, most probably written off the end of an array. If the code is short can you post it please.
At the point in gdb where you get control again, type bt. This will give you a list of all the lines in all the functions you're in the middle of calling, and you'll see which one in your code is the problem.

It is definitely worth taking five minutes to read a quick explanation on how to use gdb.
Moschops wrote:
It is definitely worth taking five minutes to read a quick explanation on how to use gdb.

Where is a good place for that though? I've avoided using gdb because, just like C++ tutorials, there are tons of gdb tutorials and probably a lot of misinformed ones to sift through. Any recommendations?