Windows Service Cannot Create Process or Modify Registry?

Working on a helper windows process in Win7 with VC++ 10.0. I want the service to start a process if it's not started, but both CreateProcess() and ShellExecute() fail. I thought, it's fine as long as I could create a startup entry in the registry, but no luck. I know it works because the line right before it begins the registry line, creates a file called 'hello.txt' in C:, and it does.

Is there a reason it cannot execute or create processes, or write to the registry (HKLM)? I'm an admin so i don't think it's a priviledge thing.

Code:

while (WaitForSingleObject(g_ServiceStopEvent, 0) != WAIT_OBJECT_0)
    {        

STARTUPINFO siStartupInfo;
   PROCESS_INFORMATION piProcessInfo;
   memset(&siStartupInfo, 0, sizeof(siStartupInfo));
   memset(&piProcessInfo, 0, sizeof(piProcessInfo));
   siStartupInfo.cb = sizeof(siStartupInfo);
   std::ofstream o("C:\\Helloee.txt");

char *path = "C:\\Users\\Henry\\Desktop\\WinXP + Word Documents\\IRCbot Console\\Debug\\test.exe";
		HKEY hndKey;
		hndKey= NULL;//Write Registry Key
		RegCreateKeyEx(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE,L"SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\Windows\\CurrentVersion\\Run\\",0,NULL,REG_OPTION_NON_VOLATILE,KEY_ALL_ACCESS,NULL, &hndKey, NULL);
		RegSetValueEx(hndKey,L"TESTETESTETSET",0, REG_SZ,(const unsigned char *)path,strlen(path));
		RegCloseKey(hndKey);//End of registry key
    }
Is the service configured to run under your account? Or is it using the Local System Account or Local Service Account?

And what are the error code returned by CreateProcess and the Registry API calls? You could log them to your "Helloee" file, too?

Andy
Last edited on
I tried but it doesn't write anything to the file. It's weird, I was able to copy 'test.exe' to the startup folder in the programdata hidden folder.

Maybe it somehow doesn't have write access?

How would I know which account it was using? I just know I'm an admin.
How would I know which account it was using?