working with structs

Hey everyone,

I am fairly new to c++, but I have to use it for my MSc project, however, I stuck in the following problem:

I have two structs that share a variable in their definition for example:

struct A
{ int V;
int W;
int X;
} Struct1;

struct B
{ int X;
int Y;
int Z;
} Struct2;

If variable X in both structs carry the same value, is it possible to pass Struct1 to a function that needs to read Value Z in Struct2??? I mean is there anyway to jump from one struct to another through a common variable??

Thanks

closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
no. you could pass A::X or B::X to an int. what you want to do is called class hierachies. http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/inheritance/ it uses classes but it should suffice
Yes and actually that feature is one of the most interesting tools that C++ offers. If both Struct A and B share a similar heritage, either they both inherit from the same class or one inherits from the other, then you get to use the polymorphism feature in this language. Don't be intimidated by the big name though, it basically means that if two object types share the same heritage then you can treat a pointer to either one as if it where an instance of pointer to the parent class. The tutorial here explains these concepts a lot better then I do.

Inheritance: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/inheritance/

Polymorphism: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/polymorphism/
Last edited on
Your question is rather unclear. For example, I have no idea what you mean by " jump from one struct to another ..."

Also, as you define variables immediately after your struct definitions, it looks like they are intended for use in a single scope. This would makes it either (a) impossible to pass via a function, if defined at function scope, or (b) pointless, if defined at global scope.

Anyway...