Which Curl package for Windows 7 64 bit?

I am also a beginner but when I searched 'Curl' it brought this forum. I used Java, as an amateur, for several years but want to learn c++.

I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, with Visual Studio 2010 Express.

I downloaded the following using the Curl 'Download Wizard': curl-7.33.0-devel-mingw64, libcurl4-7.33.0-1.tar and curl-7.34.0. I suspect the first two were mistakes, as I do not really know what MingW or Cygwin are, but I don't think I have them. The second package gave me a .dll named 'Cygwin-4'.

I have googled, experimented ad infinitum. I have added include libraries, additional libraries (in Visual Studio), added Additional Dependencies, trying with various .dlls I found in my various packages......I now suspect I have not even downloaded the correct package.

The last one curl-7.34.0 has source code which I managed to build in Visual Studio. But it only gives me a libcurl.lib file, and it appears I need a libcurl.dll? I have .dlls in other packages, but suspect they are not appropriate.

My question basically is: have I downloaded the right package (curl-7.34.0) to build on my system (the Curl download page is very confusing)? And if I have, how do I get the .dll (and do I need it?)?

I also double-clicked Makefile.vc10 in the source package src folder, tried to build in Visual Studio (hoping against hope it might give me a .dll) but all it did was change the name of the file to Makefile without the .vc10 extension. I am desperate and seem to have reached the point where I don't know if I am coming or going.........

I assure you I have googled this extensively and also followed Using libcurl in Visual Studio by Rosso Salmanzadeh, a .pdf from 2002 which others assert is still basically valid.

Many thanks for any help.
Last edited on
Add CURL_STATICLIB prepocessoir directive if you want to build libcurl as a static library.