GetAsyncKeyState uses all CPU

Hello!

I'm a beginner in C++ programming and I want to program a simulator for a little car on a racetrack. I have some problems with the keyboard input.

I use GetAsyncKeyState to read the keyboard input. This works fine except that it freezes when I hold down a button for a long time. This is because GetAsyncKeyState uses all the CPU...

I also tried with ReadConsoleInput but it only takes one keystroke at a time, so i can't press W and A att the same time, so I can't drive forward and make a left turn at the same time...

How can I solve this problem? I'm sure it's not too hard.

Thanks in advance!

if (cMode == c_manual)
		{
			wPress = GetAsyncKeyState(87) & 0x8000;
			aPress = GetAsyncKeyState(65) & 0x8000;
			sPress = GetAsyncKeyState(83) & 0x8000;
			dPress = GetAsyncKeyState(68) & 0x8000;

throttleActive = false;
			steerActive = false;

if (aPress && !dPress) // Left turn
			{
				if (us < 1.0f)
					us += 0.1f;
				steerActive = true;
			}
			if (dPress && !aPress) // Right turn
			{
				if (us > -1.0f)
					us += -0.1f;
				steerActive = true;
			}
			if (wPress && !sPress) // Gas
			{
				if (ug < 1.0f)
					ug += 0.1f;
				throttleActive = true;
			}
			if (sPress && !wPress) // Brake
			{
				if (ug > -1.0f)
					ug += -0.1f;
				throttleActive = true;
			}
			if (!steerActive)
				us = 0;
			if (!throttleActive)
				ug = 0;

Sleep(10);
		}   //Close if(mMode) 
This is because GetAsyncKeyState uses all the CPU...

Nope. GetAsyncKeyState is nonblocking so it returns immediately regardless of whether or not the key is being pressed.

You are misdiagnosing the problem. The deadlock must be caused by something else in your code.

Also... on a side note... why the magic numbers? Why not just use the character? Much easier and much more clear:

wPress = GetAsyncKeyState('W') & 0x8000; // <- 'W' instead of 87
aPress = GetAsyncKeyState('A') & 0x8000; // <- 'A' instead of 65