print variables to windows form?

Hi I'm relatively new to windows forms, and c++ in general.

I was wandering what the best way to print a variable to a windows form would be?

This is the code i have in main.cpp:
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <stream>
#include "stdlib.h"

int main(){

ifstream inFile;
	inFile.open("save.txt");

//check for error
	if (inFile.fail()) {
		cerr << "Error Opening File" << endl;
		exit(1);
	}

int x, y;

inFile >> x >> y;

cout << "Num1: " << x << endl;
	cout << "Num2: " << y << endl;

return 0;
}

instead of using the cout function, how can i print x and y to something on my windows form?
Hi Doodayer,

I'm no expert but I hope I can help...

You could use a label or textBox to display your int variable. If you wanted to have this displayed when the form loads, all you need to do is double click the form when your viewing Form1.h design..... This creates the 'Form1_Load' event.

private: System::Void Form1_Load(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) {
}

As for your variables.... This should work (providing you have a label and textBox (named label1 and textBox1 respectively).

private: System::Void Form1_Load(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) {
int x = 10;
int y = 2;
label1->Text = Convert::ToString(x);
textBox1->Text = y.ToString("N2")
}

Note. the code bit 'ToString("N2")' is useful to set the number of decimal places, even if it is an integer (int)... In the above example, this should display 2.00 in textBox1. i.e. N2 represents 2 decimal places. textBox1->Text = y.ToString(); will work also but will dispaly as an 'int'....

Either bit of code after the = sign would work for label or textBox...

I hope this helps.

Last edited on
when i double click on anything in the form, including the form, it opens a file named xapper.vb. what is this? it contains these:
    Private Sub XapperAlpha_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

End Sub