Dialog to Browse file and save it

hey
I am new to c++. I am trying to create a editor program.I am stuck at how to open a dialog box where it asks to open a file from any directory (my pictures etc ) and then save that file.i tried using the form to create a open/save dialog box- in design mode - but when i compile it,its giving me errors like

button1_click has no member...if anyone who can guide me through this that would be amazing thankyou.

i am using visual studio 2013

here's that code

System::EventHandler(this, &Form::button1_Click);
Last edited on
First, I must say, you should start with console programs before windows programs.
Second, here's your answer:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/bb776913(v=vs.85).aspx
I disagree. Start with GUI programs.

Here's how to use the common "open file" dialog without having to play with COM interfaces (just straight-up Windows API):

#include <iostream>

#ifndef NOMINMAX
#define NOMINMAX
#endif
#include <windows.h>

int main()
{
  char filename[ MAX_PATH ];

OPENFILENAME ofn;
    ZeroMemory( &filename, sizeof( filename ) );
    ZeroMemory( &ofn,      sizeof( ofn ) );
    ofn.lStructSize  = sizeof( ofn );
    ofn.hwndOwner    = NULL;  // If you have a window to center over, put its HANDLE here
    ofn.lpstrFilter  = "Text Files\0*.txt\0Any File\0*.*\0";
    ofn.lpstrFile    = filename;
    ofn.nMaxFile     = MAX_PATH;
    ofn.lpstrTitle   = "Select a File, yo!";
    ofn.Flags        = OFN_DONTADDTORECENT | OFN_FILEMUSTEXIST;

if (GetOpenFileNameA( &ofn ))
  {
    std::cout << "You chose the file \"" << filename << "\"\n";
  }
  else
  {
    // All this stuff below is to tell you exactly how you messed up above. 
    // Once you've got that fixed, you can often (not always!) reduce it to a 'user cancelled' assumption.
    switch (CommDlgExtendedError())
    {
      case CDERR_DIALOGFAILURE   : std::cout << "CDERR_DIALOGFAILURE\n";   break;