Hash maps.

Hello all. I'm quite new to C++'s implementation of hash maps. I've messed around with them in Java, which seems really simple compared to this, but I want to try to figure them out in C++ as well.

So I found some code on a website that got me started, but there are some things I don't understand. Here's the code:

#include <hash_map>
#include <string>
#include <iostream>
#define _DEFINE_DEPRECATED_HASH_CLASSES 0

using namespace std;
using namespace stdext;

int main()
{
	hash_map<string, int> yeah;
	string hello = "hello";

yeah["hello"] = yeah.comp("hello");
	yeah["Mellow Gold"] = 233;
	if (yeah["mellow Gold"])
		cout << "YEY!" << endl;
	cout << yeah.comp("hello");
	cout << yeah["hello"];

yeah["okay"] = 23;
	cout << endl << yeah["okay"] << endl;

return 0;
}

There are some things I don't understand:

- Why is there the "#define _DEFINE...?" Is it defining something that is used in the hash_map lib or what?

- What's stdext? And I guess it's used so I don't have to do stdext:: everytime I want to use a member of that namespace?

- I'm not really sure how to call the hash function/create my own. I want to hash on the string values, so if I do "yeah.comp("hello")," that returns the hash value and stores it for yeah["hello"], right? Is that the right way of doing it?

What I really want to do is build a dictionary of words, so I will have strings (that will be my words), and I want to count how many times these words occur in my text file. I'm choosing a hash_map because of how fast the look up is. I'm just stuck on how I implement this.

My current thought process/problem is... I want to basically have a struct that just has my word and its count, but when I go to put this in the hash map, I'm not really sure how I do this, since I don't want the hash function to hash on the whole struct, I just want the string's value to hash. So let's say I have a struct that looks like this:

struct word {
      string myWord;
      int count = 0;
};