Multithreading in C++

Hi all,
I'm a beginner programer in VC++. I have two functions that I'm calling from the main function. I want to control the time that each function run for. I'm illustrarting below with the following simple code:

#include <stdafx.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <windows.h>
#include <set>
#include <conio.h>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int a,b,c,d;
int function1(int, int);
int function2(int);

int main(){

cout << "Enter a: ";
	cin >> a;
	cout << "Enter b: ";
	cin >> b;
	function1(a,b);
	function2(c);

return 0;
} /* End of Main */

int function1(int a, int b){

c = (2*(a+b))-(3*b);
	cout << "c= " << c << "\n";
	return c;
} /* End of function1 */

int function2(int c){

d = (2*c)+(c-3);
	cout << "d= " << d << "\n";

return d;
}/* End of function2 */

I want for instance to run function1 for 10ms and function2 for 50 ms. I know one of the ways to do this is multithreading using Mutex, yet I have no experience in multithreading. I tried to read about it but honestly it was beyond my knowledge of the language to understand the sample code. So I was hoping to find an easy way maybe using timers, waitbar timers or anything else. I don't want to use Sleep(ms) to achieve as I want to have full control of the running time.

Any help would be appreicated.
Last edited on
Well, let me dig up my code and find an example of threading...
I think this should work. Let me know if it doesn't and I'll give you a more literal copy:
#include <windows.h>

struct parameters{
	//whatever parameters thread0 needs
};

DWORD thread0(void *params){
	parameters *a=(parameters *)params;
	//put parameters into separate variables, if you want
	//thread0's body
}

//I like to use this function to start threads more easily
HANDLE newThread(LPTHREAD_START_ROUTINE routine,LPVOID parameters,int priority=0){
	HANDLE res=CreateThread(0,0,routine,parameters,0,0);
	if (priority)
		SetThreadPriority(res,priority);
	return res;
}

int main(){