Redrawing Contents of Window

I am still learning to program Native Windows and the GDI. I am wanting to make a simple picture viewer. Here is what I have. These two cases are in seperate switch statements. I didn't want to post the whole program for obvious reasons.

HBITMAP bitMap = NULL;
char fileName[MAX_PATH] = "";

case OPEN_MENU:
{
OPENFILENAME ofn;
MessageBox(hWnd, fileName, "Test", MB_OK);
ZeroMemory(&ofn, sizeof(ofn));

ofn.lStructSize = sizeof(ofn);
ofn.hwndOwner = hWnd;
ofn.lpstrFilter = "BMP (*.bmp)\0*.bmp\0";
ofn.lpstrFile = fileName;
ofn.nMaxFile = MAX_PATH;
ofn.Flags = OFN_EXPLORER | OFN_FILEMUSTEXIST | OFN_HIDEREADONLY;
ofn.lpstrDefExt = "bmp";

if(GetOpenFileName(&ofn))
{
//fileName = (LPCSTR)fileName;
bitMa[ = LoadBitmap(GetModuleHandle(NULL), (LPCSTR)fileName);
InvalidateRect(hWnd, NULL, TRUE);
UpdateWindow(hWnd);
//PostMessage(hWnd, WM_PAINT, 0, 0);
}
}
break;

case WM_PAINT:
{
/*if(fileName != "")
{
}*/
BITMAP bp;
PAINTSTRUCT ps;

HDC hdc = BeginPaint(hWnd, &ps);

HDC hdcmem = CreateCompatibleDC(hdc);
HBITMAP old = (HBITMAP)SelectObject(hdcmem, cyberwolf);

GetObject(bitMap, sizeof(bp), &bp);

BitBlt(hdc, 0, 0, bp.bmWidth, bp.bmHeight, hdcmem, 0, 0, SRCCOPY);

SelectObject(hdcmem, old);
DeleteObject(hdcmem);

EndPaint(hWnd, &ps);
}
break;

When I run it with this, a Open Dialog opens. I select the image I want to open, but it won't display it. I have checked everything. I don't know what is wrong. Does anyone know? Thanks.
Last edited on
After
EndPaint()
Just add

Invalidate();

Rajendra.
@ gamewolfwhat is cyberwolf that you are selecting into the memory device context in the WM_PAINT message???

@ rajenipcv should you call theinvalidate function while you are in the middle of handling a WM_PAINT message?
@ guestgulkan
Yes.
O cyberwolf shouldn't be there

Whe I use Invalidate();, it says 'Invalidate: Identifier not found'.
@ rajenipcv should you call the invalidate function while you are in the middle of handling a WM_PAINT message?