Advice for starting C++

Hey I am going to be starting studying C++ in about a week when I have a lot of free time and I was looking for some advice on what materials I will need. I have experience in java, I have taken 2 java classes at my college. I am starting classes at university in a month and one of our classes is C++/Math class and I have no C++ experience. The counselor said its ok I dont have C++ experience but im not so sure about that.

I have read Java: Introduction to Problem Solving and Programming (5th Edition) by Frank Carrano and am still reading Thinking in Java by Bruce Eckel.

The two books assigned for my C++/Math class are Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications by Kenneth Rosen and Data Abstraction & Problem Solving with C++ (5th Edition) by Frank Carrano.

I wanted advice to whether I need to purchase a beginner C++ book and if so some recommendations or if I can start with the 2 assigned books for my upcoming class.
Last edited on
Do you have any C experience? If so, you will find C++ very simple to learn. C++ is just mainly C with classes and many new features which make it much more convenient and object oriented.

I first did Java just like you and I found it very convenient and useful in learning C, as the latter is a more rudimentary language. I googled for you one seemingly nice tutorial that you can try out:

http://einstein.drexel.edu/courses/Comp_Phys/General/C_basics/

You will probably find it very familiar to what you already learned, except for when you will get into pointers. Pointers is one of the fundamentals in both C and C++, although it is not present in Java.

Overall, C++ is in between C and Java, as it has both the procedural aspect of C and the object oriented possibilities (and even more) as Java does.

Hope I helped you!
closed account (Gz64jE8b)
Java is a derivative of C++, if you know Java you should understand C++ fairly easily.
closed account (1vRz3TCk)