program won't run without the Qt IDE

Hi -

I've written a couple of programs within the Qt Creator IDE. It's noteworthy that neither of them require any of the Qt classes or libraries; I'm using Creator strictly as an IDE.

I'm trying to get these programs to run "standalone" from a CLI. I know that a few DLLs must be co-resident with the programs to allow this to happen, and I've copied those DLLs into both program locations.

One runs from the CLI, the other doesn't. The one that doesn't run immediately returns the CLI prompt. (Both programs run within Creator.)

I've tried using Dependency Walker to show me what's missing, but I'm new to DW and can't get any meaningful (to me) information from it.

Any suggestions on how I might chase down whatever is missing from the non-running program? I'm pretty sure the problem is with a missing library, but I don't have enough Windows development experience to identify them.

Any suggestions for how to move forward with this? Thanks.
You're using Qt as IDE, but are you creating your own makefile or using qmake? that's very vital, because Qt may involve some libraries if you use qmake. You have to write your own makefile.

And I didn't really understand. What kind of dependency problems are you facing? what compiler are you using? and are you facing a missing DLL problem? What's the error you're getting and where are you getting it?
Last edited on
I'm using QMake. (When I said I was using Creator as my IDE, I meant for building and running the programs as well. I just meant that I wasn't using any of the QT GUI constructs in my program.)

I'm using the Mingw compiler. I don't know what dependency problems I'm having. The program that runs, does so with just two Mingw libraries copied to its directory. I've copied those two libraries to the other program's directory as well, but it won't work.

No error message, just a prompt back from the CLI.