The Window Has Been Destroyed, But Still Remains

closed account (zb0S216C)
I created a basic Win32 program that does absolutely nothing useful. Any road, when I click the "X" button, the window vanishes, but in Task Manager, the program name is still there.

Here's my procedure:

switch(e_)
{    
    case WM_DESTROY:
        PostQuitMessage(0);
        break;

default:
        return(DefWindowProc(h_, e_, wp_, lp_));
}

Ideas?

I'm new to the Win API scene, so I apologise if I'm not specifying anything important. If I am, just ask :)

Wazzak
Welcome to the Dark side Framework!

Clicking the 'X' sends a WM_DESTROY message to the message queue, that's the thing you are polling with GetMessage() in the main body of your execution loop. This will be sent to the registered callback function for that window class and would naturally trigger the case you have in your switch to execute calling the PostQuitMessage() function. This will post a WM_QUIT message to the queue causing GetMessage() to return a 0 normally exiting the while() loop that you have running in the main body of your code, this however does not immediately cause the program to exit. This is still a C\C++ application and it still follows the same rules so if there is anything in the main body holding your application open, like some kind of pause() or sleep() function then the thread will still be running.

Alternatively, if somehow you didn't register your call back function by passing a function pointer to the lpfnWndProc member of your WNDCLASS\WNDCLASSEX struct correctly then your messages might be going somewhere else. This shouldn't happen, it should crash the application when you go to run it but IDE's do some strange things. EDIT: I only mentioned this as a hair brained theory because if the PostQuitMessage() is never called then the program will only destroy the window and not post the WM_QUIT message indicating that it wishes to exit.