Help with windows programming

Hi!
I have some experience with the c++ programming language and I started to read an old book,
"How to make your own games in c++";
Unfortunately, all of the book refers to c++ programming under DOS. I want to run it under windows 7 and I face many problems. For example, there is no int86() functions defined in the header file dos.h, that I can use to directly access the registers.

I was trying to make my own header file for mouse operations (as described in the book). It would be something like:

#ifndef __MOUSE_H
#define __MOUSE_H

#include <dos.h>

#define LEFT 1
#define RIGHT 2
#define CENTER 3

class Mouse
{
private:
	int mx, my,
	got_mouse,
	num_buttons,
	button;
	REGS inREGS;
	REGS outREGS;
public:
Mouse(void);
~Mouse(void);
int GotMouse(void){return got_mouse;}
void SetLimits(int minXLimit, int maxXLimit, int minYLimit, int maxYLimit);
void ShowMouse(void);
void HideMouse(void);
int Event(void);
int GetButton(void){return button;}
void GetXY(int &x, int &y){x=mx;y=my;}
void ButtonUP(void);
};

extern Mouse mouse;

Mouse::Mouse(void)
{
	got_mouse=0;
	if(getvect(0x33))
	{
		inREGS.x.ax=0x0000;
		int86(0x33,&inREGS,&outREGS);
		got_mouse=outREGS.x.ax;
		num_buttons=out.REGS.x.bs;
	}

}
Mouse::~Mouse(void)
{
	inREGS.x.ax=0x0000;
	int86(0x33,&inREGS,&outREGS);
}

void Mouse::SetLimits(int minXLimit, int maxXLimit, int minYLimit, int maxYLimit)
{
	if(!got_mouse)
		return;
	inRegs.x.ax=0x0007;
	inRegs.x.cx=minXLimit;
	inRegs.x.dx=maxXLimit;
	int86(0x33,&inRegs,&outRegs);
	inRegs.x.ax=0x0008;
	inRegs.x.cx=minYLimit;
	inRegs.x.dx=maxYLimit;
}

void Mouse::ShowMouse(void)
{
	if(!got_mouse)
		return;
	inRegs.x.ax=0x0001;
}

void Mouse::HideMouse(void)
{
	if(!got_mouse)
		return;
	inRegs.x.ax=0x0002;
}

int Mouse::Event(void)
{
	if(!got_mouse)
		return 0;
	inRegs.x.ax=0x0003;
	button=outRegs.x.bx;
	mx=outRegs.x.cx;
	my=outRegs.x.dx;
	if(button)
		return 1;
	else
		return 0;
}
void Mouse::ButtonUp(void)
{
	while(button)
		Event();
}