OpenGL, SFML or DirectX?

Which way is better? I started learning DirectX about a month ago, but is this a bad idea? Or SFML is better, right?
Last edited on
I am unfamiliar with it, but I think that SFML renders only in 2D. If that's the case, this makes it way less versatile than OpenGL and DirectX -- that have the full capability to render in 3D.

After going over the features I saw in SFML's website, I think that it is probably superior to 2D APIs like SDL (I have only briefly used SDL about 4 years ago, but was surprised to find that there was no direct way to do 2D rotation, unless using SDL's OpenGL mode etc. ). SFML also has a lot of built-in compatibility for various file types and the features I read are impressive for a single package.

I think that OpenGL and DirectX are the most versatile -- especially if you want to render in 3D, in which case I think they're the only options.

As for OpenGL, it can be used in a cross-platform way although requires platform specific implementations of setting up your window, viewport, handling user input, playing sound etc -- since OpenGL does the rendering part only. You could use libraries like GLUT/OpenGLUT to set up system-independent window management and user input handling (GLUT is no longer maintained, but OpenGLUT retains the features of GLUT while expanding on them). For sound, I know that SDL was/is a choice sometimes made by OpenGL users, although that was a few years ago and do not know to what extent SFML could/might be a better supplement in the features it offers.

As for DirectX, it is system-dependent to Windows although involves components that are meant to handle other things than rendering alone -- like playing sound etc. .

You may be interested in this site: http://www.rastertek.com/

It mainly has DirectX tutorials and code, but also has some material using OpenGL and dealing with the same subjects -- you could compare the code samples to see each API at work on a similar task.