how to create a client server in MFC

I have never used MFC before, just c++ console applications, and c#.
I just created a client server program in a c++ console application but now i need to make something similar in MFC.

I have a list box and a button (this is the server). When the button is clicked i want all the client's ip addresses that are connected to the server displayed in the list box.

Can someone please help with this?
I have a list box and a button (this is the server). When the button is clicked i want all the client's ip addresses that are connected to the server displayed in the list box.
A TCP server gets the client address when it connects. It the returned from accept().

If you want to list the addresses of connected clients, you need to trim this set of client addresses to the clients still connected and return that. You know when a client is disconnection becuase it's the ones you haven't called closesocket() on.
can a client run without a server? then when i click the button the server runs and then all waiting clients can connect? then the ip addresses of those clients get displayed in the list box

can you give me source code or link some tutorials to do this?
I have never used MFC before
Last edited on
The socket code it will be exactly the same if that already works for you. What exactly do you want ? How to add/remove strings from a list box in MFC ?
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/y04ez4c9(v=vs.100).aspx
http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/796/Using-the-CListBox-control
i created a client-server program in c++ console. but this program is different so i don't think i can use the same code.

When i click the button i want the list box to populate with any clients that are connected to the server
can a client run without a server?
Not really. Your connection to the server will fail in connect(). What you do then is up to you.

when i click the button the server runs and then all waiting clients can connect?