How to detect IP in a network?

This is mini-project for my internship. They wanted a program to show the IP of devices within the network and later to show the bandwidth usage of each IP. They just gave me the project to keep me occupied here while waiting for other tasks.

My question is, where do I start? Reading materials, sample codes would be helpful, or basic logic and flow. Total newbie when it comes to network related codes.
What IP are you looking for to find ? Your computer IP address (could be more than one) or external IP address (that every website can see) ?.
Howdy,
If I understand correctly it's a VERY difficult task.

In order to get the IP addresses of all devices on the network you will have to either listen on an un-switched network for traffic, listen on a switched network (99% of networks) for broadcast packets OR have the machine running your software act as a proxy/router for all network traffic.

In order to determine the bandwidth use of a device on the network you either have to install software directly on that device, or have that device's traffic routed through a machine running your software. So either build them a proxy/gateway server, or install your software on EVERY device that want to monitor.

Honestly, unless you're an expert level C++ developer with 5+ years of professional experience I'd be looking for a more viable project.
Last edited on
Hmm, I've read some e-books and they talks about the IP stuff which I am still trying to get a feel on it. So my best guess is the external, or basically the IP that can tell the number of devices that is connected to the network.

Owh found this one on the web, would it help me?

http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/2106/How-to-get-the-clients-IP-address-using-TcpClient
That won't help you. You need to look at networking topology and switched networks. This is only like 10% programming and 90% networking. That link is not going to be helpful.