File manipulation

Hi guys, sorry to bother but I am having a bit of trouble with this question, I'm very new to file manipulation so there is probably a lot of mistakes in the coding, however I gave it my best and when I compile, for example "./head 1000.txt" (which I wrote to have the numbers 1 - 1000 in), I get "Segmentation fault", yet when I compile "./head -n 3 1000.txt" it prints "1000" and then "Segmentation fault" on a new line, I'm quite confused and need help.
Anyway, thanks for your help.

"Write a program, head.c, which given a single argument n prints the first 10 lines of the file. If the file has less than 10 lines the entire file should be printed.
It should also be possible to specify that a different number of lines be printed. This will specified by passing the string "-n" as the first argument to the program, the number of lines to be printed as the second argument and the file as the third argument. "

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#define CHAR 1024

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){

int i;
    FILE *pFile;
    char string[CHAR];
    int c = atoi(argv[2]);

if(argc<3){
        pFile = fopen(argv[1], "r");
        if(pFile == NULL){
            printf("Could not open the file.\n");
            return 0;
        }else{
            for(i=0;i<10;i++){
                 fgets(string, CHAR, pFile);
                 printf("%s\n", string);
                 pFile++;
            }
        }
    }else{
        pFile = fopen(argv[3], "r");
        if(pFile == NULL){
            printf("Could not open the file.\n");
            return 0;
        }else{
            for(i=0;i<c;i++){
                fgets(string, CHAR, pFile);
                printf("%s\n", string);
                pFile++;
            }
        }
        fclose(pFile);
    }
    return 0;
}
int c = atoi(argv[2]);if you pass less than 2 parameters it is instant segfault.
pFile++; You are increasing pointer and making it invalid. Next operation will lead to crash