Trying to extract a certain string from a text file

okay so im new to programming and Ive emailed my prof 3 times to ask for help but she hasnt replied, so hopefully someone here can help me out. I know I nearly got it but I cant figure it out. So right now Im trying to write a program that has the user input the date in the format dd/mm/yyyy and return it as month date, year. So 01/01/1990 becomes January 1st, 1990. I need to use a text file that has the names of the months beside their corresponding numbers. So the list of the text file looks like this:

01January
02February
03March

.. and so on.

So far I have this:

// reading a text file
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
  string thedate; //string to enter the date
  string month; // this string will hold the month
  ifstream myfile;
 cout << "Please enter the date in the format dd/mm/yyyy, include the slashes: " << endl;
 cin >> thedate; //user inputs date

month = thedate.substr( 3, 2 );
  string newmonth;

cout << month << endl;

myfile.open("months.txt");

if(!myfile)
{
	cout << "unable to open file" << endl;
	return 1;
}

getline(myfile, newmonth);

cout << newmonth << endl;

return 0;
}

I know not using a text file would be a lot easier, but I have to as part of the assignment. I know I have to use string.find() in some way, but I dont know how to get it to work with a text file. I tried to store the month in the format mm in the string month, so I could search for whatever the user enetered. I tried using newmonth.find(month); thinking it would search for the contents of the month string, but it didnt.

Ive also looked through http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/string/string/find/ and I still cant figure it out.

Also, we have learned as far as loops, input output, and if/else/ statements. We havnt learned arrays yet, or user defined functiosn, so if you could stay away from those that would be awesome.
Help would be greatly appreciated!