Vectors

Well, I'm a newbie to programming & a self-learner. So, vector confused me a good bit. I want to know the use of vector, its applications in programming. Why we use vector & what's its use. Everything was going on well, but I'm little bit of struck in vector. I want to clear every bit of vector so that it doesn't reate any confusion for me in the future. So, kindly help me to get a sense of vector.

PS.: Please don't use any technical language or hard-core c++ stuffs. Just explain where & how we use vector in programming. Give me a sense of it in the easiest way.

Thanks.
Last edited on
read the book "C How to Program" written by P.J.Deitel and H.M.Deitel
@flussadl How's C++ Primer by Stanley Lippman? Is it a good book?
Last edited on
@JLBorges Thanks for recommendation of the links. I think they'll help me understanding vectors better.
> How's C++ Primer by Stanley Lippman? Is it a good book?

Yes. One of the best. If you are going for it, get the latest edition (fifth).

You may want to have a look at this list (Beginners Introductory):
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/388242/the-definitive-c-book-guide-and-list

Bruce Eckel's book (somewhat dated) is also available for free download:
http://www.mindview.net/Books/TICPP/ThinkingInCPP2e.html
Last edited on
vectors are dynamic allocated arrays pretty much. It is just a class object.

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/vector/vector/ talks about them at the top of the page plus has all the stuff in the vector class.
i have something to give for a self-learner (i really love those guys), here's all i know about vectors:

as giblit said, they are dynamic arrays, means : a vector acts like an array, but it can extend in size at runtime, that makes it a flixible array.