Why & what to program with C++

There are many, many programming languages, each with their own target audiences and purposes. What about C++? Why program with C++? What type of programs or uses are good for C++ and what type are not?
I would also like to know common examples of C++ implementations, and how C++ is used with other languages.

I am pretty new to C++ (and cplusplus), so if you don't mind me asking another question: How portable is C++?
c++ is a very strong multi purpose language it can be used to create almost every type of programs such as system programs, operating systems and applications. About portability c++ is not OS dependant.
StevenChartis wrote:
Why program with C++?

Because it offers modern high level abstractions while sticking relatively close to the hardware. This allows for an efficient program that can also be modular and very readable (assuming it was written well).

StevenChartis wrote:
What type of programs or uses are good for C++ and what type are not?

It's used a lot in the finance industry, anything that requires intensive rendering, large scale simulations, and down user level applications as well. It's used everywhere. With its strength though, comes development time. It can take quite a bit longer to develop solid, efficient, and relatively bug-free software in C++. It has its annoying quirks. And if the application doesn't necessarily need the speed that C++ offers, then there are better suited languages. That's not to say that there's really anything C++ can't do. But this be said about almost any major language.

StevenChartis wrote:
I would also like to know common examples of C++ implementations, and how C++ is used with other languages.

Not sure what you mean by "common examples of C++ implementations". If you mean examples of software that use it, then this article has a list of some: http://www.stroustrup.com/applications.html (Bjarne Strousup being the creator of C++).