What is the difference between getch(), getche() and getchar() functions?

Hi Everybody,
I am a beginner in C++ and I was wondering that what is the difference between getch(), getche() and getchar() functions.

I read somewhere that getch() gets a character from stdin. What does this mean? What is stdin?

Waiting for your reply,
Thank you,
-Himansh
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
stdin is the standard input stream.
not accurate, but you can think of the stdin as the keyboard.

i assume getch() and getche() are the ones in conio.h.
if so:
those two functions are for interactive input operations.
they both extract a character from the console and return the integer that corresponds to it.
the difference is:
getch() doesn't echo the extracted character to the console, means : the extracted character doesn't get printed on the screen.
getche() echos the extracted character to the console, means : the extracted character gets printed on the screen.
and "interactive" means that they don't wait for a (Enter) to be pressed to finish their job,
instead, they return as soon as any key is pressed.

getchar() extracts one character from stdin, but it waits until (Enter) is pressed, then returns.
it is described in the standard as being interactive, yet it waits for the (Enter) to return, this behaviour can't achieve real interactivity in some situations.

programmers consider getch() and getche() bad for being non-standard, but i think they complete a missing part of the C++ standard.
i am completely accurate actually:
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstdio/stdin/

the keyboard is the source of the input put in the buffer, but stdin is the stream for it
closed account (3qX21hU5)
You are in a C++ forum not C DTSCode ;p For C++ the standard input stream would be istream http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/istream/ . stdin is the standard input stream for C.

So not completely accurate.
Last edited on