Tax

closed account (G1pE3TCk)
Hey, all! I'm having a minor issue with my code so far for this program I am working on. It is a program to calculate the income tax based on marital status and income. I'm not sure if I have my variable labeled correctly. I'm new to C++ so any help would be greatly appreciated.

char status;

cout <<"Enter filing status: S for single, M for married, F for filing 
    separately, and H for head of household.";

cout <<"Status: ";
    cin >> status;
    cout <<endl;

if (status=='S')
    {
        cout <<"Please enter your taxable income: ";
        cin >> taxableincome;
        cout <<"s-test";
    };
    if (status=='M')
    {
        cin >> taxableincome;    
        cout <<"M-test";
    };
    if (status=='F')
    {
        cin >> taxableincome;
        cout <<"F-test";
    };
    if (status=='H')
    {
        cin >> taxableincome;
        cout <<"H-test";
    }
    return 0;
}
Last edited on
Consider your logic. According to the code, you can be single and married...
Is that what you want?
not quite sure what you mean?
My bad. Never mind the above. What do you think is going wrong with your code?

You might need more variables. ie.e you can be married and be the head of household. How do you capture this?
Last edited on
I forgot to include the definitions for the varables S,M,F,H. But I think there is also an issue with the "cin >> status."
Hiya.
I'm not sure if I have my variable labeled correctly.

There are a lot more worrying things in there. For example:

cin >> status<<endl;

That's pretty mental :)

Also you want to test for the character in your if's. Your compiler is treating your S,M,F and H as undeclared variables.
I'm not sure what you mean by "test for the character in your if's.."
get rid of thoese variables you've added for starters.

add one for taxableincome.

And i mean you need something like this:

if (status=='S')

i.e. you are telling your compiler you want to test for the literal character 'S'.