C++ Primer compiler

Pages: 12
I am new to c++ and recently purchased the C++ Primer 5th Ed book. It advises they use the GNU Compiler 4.7.0. I have a computer with windows Vista on it. Would this be a good compiler to use or is there anything else that could be commended.
on a side note I do use Eclipse for Java programming and have seen there is a way to set Eclipse up for c++.

Thanks for your help
Personally I use the TDM compiler which is a windows port of GCC. Currently it is at version 4.8.1 (and finally supports threads!!!)
http://tdm-gcc.tdragon.net/
Really good compiler, when I run into bugs, I report them and the developers fix them ASAP :)
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
there is also mingw, visual c++, clang (does that work on windows?), dev-bloodshed(which should NEVER EVER BE USED. EVER.) and i think thats it for the main ones.
I am looking to learn c++ on my own and purchshed the C++ primer book but
Looking through the forums i see all these different compliers, like TDM, mingw, GCC GNU.
What is the differnce between these? what is the differnce between a IDE and complier?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

The compilers are different because they were written by different people. That means different error messages, different options, and different levels of support for features. Dont get too hung up with this because it doesnt matter too much when starting out, and if need be you can use multiple compilers. An ide is kind of an advanced text editor that has a bunch of tools in one. Code::blocks, geany, and visual studips are popular ones
"Code::blocks, geany, and visual studips are popular ones" popular ones of what?

Do you have any steps for installing a good compiler?
sorry i meant visual studios. they are ides. what os are you using?
IDE stands for Integrated Developement Environment, btw. People got sick of useing plain-text editors and good ol' fashion cmd.exe and compiling manually, so somone wrote and IDE that did all of that and more. :)