limit input to only integer

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to C++ and I've been trying to figure out how to limit user input to only integer. I've found out a way using while loop to get rid of string inputs but when input is decimal my program crashes. Can someone shed a light on how it's supposed to be done please?

Here is part of my code:

int bunny

cout << "\n"  << "Number of Bunnies intended to pat: ";

while (!(cin >> bunny)) 
	{
		cout << "Entry must be a whole number! Try again: " ; 
		cin.clear();
		cin.ignore(500, '\n');

}

#include <iostream>
#include <cctype>

int main()
{
    int num_bunnies = -1 ;

while( num_bunnies < 1 )
    {
         std::cout << "\nNumber of Bunnies intended to pat: ";

char c ;
         // if failed to read or the character just after the number is not a white space
         if( !( std::cin >> num_bunnies ) || ( std::cin.get(c) && !std::isspace(c) ) )
         {
             std::cout << "Entry must be a whole number! Try again: " ;
             std::cin.clear();
             std::cin.ignore( 500, '\n' );
             num_bunnies = -1 ; // go through the loop again
         }

else if( num_bunnies < 1 )
            std::cout << "Number of Bunnies must be a positive number! Try again: " ;
    }

std::cout << "#bunnies == " << num_bunnies << '\n' ;

}
Thank you JLBorgers! It works perfectly! However, as a total novice at C++ myself, there were a few things I didn't understand and I would appreciate if you don't mind elaborating for me:

1. When set up the integer = -1, what does it do exactly?
int num_bunnies = -1 ;
nvm I figured it out.
2. I didn't understand the second part of the if statement and the declaration of "char c". I would really appreciate good elaboration.

Last edited on