C++ Regex -Reading HTML Tags

Hi guys,

I'm trying to read matched html tags

ex:

<html> == </html>
<b> == </b>
etc.

I tried doing this with strings and substrings but got really messy and was not accurate half the time. Im new to this so would like some feedback on how to solve my problem. Ty

int main() {

string htmlParagraph = "<html>This is a test for html tags. </html>" ;

regex Html("^<html>");
  regex HtmlTag("</html>$");

if(((regex_match (Html,htmlParagraph))&&(regex_match (HtmlTag,htmlParagraph))) == true){
    cout << "This is an html tag. " << endl;
  }

system("pause");
}
If you don't know what vectors are, I'm not sure this will make sense.

I've never used regex, so I'm just going to show you how I would approach it.

I created a function to find all of the text between given tags and return a string vector with all of the strings found between tags. Don't worry too much about how the function works for now if you don't understand it, but focus more on the usage of the function in the main().

Let me know if you need more clarification or if this worked out for you.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <vector>

using namespace std;

vector<string> FindTextBetween(string StringBeingSearched, string OpeningStringToFind, string ClosingStringToFind);

int main()
{
	vector<string> StoreTheFoundStrings;

cout << "Test 1." << endl;
	StoreTheFoundStrings = FindTextBetween("<html>This is the text between the html tags.</html>", "<html>", "</html>");
	if (StoreTheFoundStrings.size()>0) //If the size is >0 that means that it found at least 1 phrase between the tags
										//If size is 2, it found 2 phrases between opening/closing tags etc
	{
		for (int i=0; i<StoreTheFoundStrings.size(); i++) //We'll loop through each element in the vector
		{
			cout << "Found string between tags:" << StoreTheFoundStrings[i] << endl; //Then we'll print each element the vector found
		}
	}