Have to write a code with a function that returns the number of seconds since the last time the clock struck 12.

I need write a code with a function that returns the number of seconds since the last time the clock struck 12. Im really new to C++ and I want to see how to do this and can really use the help! Please and Thank You!!

1. Write a function that takes in three integer parameters (representing hours, minutes, and seconds) and returns the number of seconds since the last time the clock "struck 12" (i.e. was at 12:00:00 -- AM or PM doesn't matter).

2. To test this function, write a main() routine (in the same file) that prompts the user to enter hours, minutes, and seconds for two different clock times; then uses the Seconds function to calculate the shortest amount of time in seconds between the two times (both of which are within one 12-hour cycle of the clock); the print out the number of seconds since "striking 12" for both clocks, as well as the number of seconds between the two clock times.

@CocaCola9898

First of all, we need to see that you're trying to learn to program, by showing us your code so far. This is not a homework site. Second, it's really not that hard to do the programming. Let's say you get a user to type in the hour, minutes and seconds. Figuring the total seconds would be:
Lets say hour is 8. There are 3600 seconds in an hour, so take 8 * 3600 equals 28800
Minutes might be 12. There are 60 seconds in a minute. 12 * 60 equals 720
Add the two, then add the seconds inputted. Let's say it was 17.
28800 + 720 + 17 equals 29537 seconds have passed since 12:00.
Last edited on
@CocaCola9898

I was intrigued by this problem, so I went ahead and wrote it. I won't give you the code, but I will point you in the direction.