Classes

Hello

I am new to programming, and am having trouble getting my head around classes.

Hypothetically I want to create a database for a gym, I want to be able to add new members whenever one joins.

I believe from what I have read that a class would be needed as all members will need the same information entered albeit different values. How do I create a class where I can have user defined information.

I hope this makes sense.

I am teaching myself using c++ primer, you tube and now this forum, so please be patient.

Thanks in advance

James
Have you studied structs? If not, you should do so first.

A class is simply a struct, with the difference that members are by default private unless declared otherwise, while struct members are by default public.
I have looked at structs, but I was lead to believe that they are used more in c programming and that classes are a super structure so to speak. Having said that I shall now study structs. Thank you.
I was lead to believe that they are used more in c programming

structs were originally a C feature. structs are used in C++ both for backward compatability with C and are most often used to represent POD (Plain Old Data) objects in C++.
classes are a super structure so to speak.

C++ extended C's implementation of structs to support visibility (public, protected, private) along with methods (including constructors and destructors). Features which are more commonly associated with classes but apply to both structs and classes. So there is a difference in functionality between C and C++ structs.
Last edited on